
CONTRACTOR’S BUSINESS  
LICENSE APPLICATION 

TAX YEAR 2020 
Out of County Contractors 

COUNTY OF HANOVER, VIRGINIA 
Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue 
P.O. Box 129 
Hanover, VA 23069-0129 
Tel: (804) 365-3377 Fax: (804) 365-6111 
Email: corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov T. Scott Harris, MCR 

Commissioner

Single Project Contractors 
If you are an out of county/state contractor working on a single project, your tax will be based on the estimate of the project.  You’ll be asked to true-up when 
the job is complete. 

Project Start Date Project End Date Estimated Project Costs 

Original Application.  If this application is an initial license request for a single project and is an estimate, please check this box. 
True-Up.  If this application is a true-up for a previously submitted single project, please check this box. 

Pursuant to Virginia State Code §58.1-2700, every contractor shall obtain a license for each business.  If the gross receipts of the business exceed 
$100,000 in the prior year, there shall be a license tax in the amount of ten cents ($0.10) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of gross receipts. 
The license tax is assessable, due and payable by March 1 of each license year. 

Contractor’s Certification of Workers’ Compensation Liability (VA Form 61-A) MUST be completed and submitted with this application.  
You may also submit a confirmation from the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission. 

Declaration: By signing below, I declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I 
acknowledge the Workman’s Compensation requirements as stated above. 

Signature Date Telephone Number 

 Signature (person other than taxpayer preparing this form) Date Telephone Number 

Account Number 

Legal Business Name Physical Address 

Trade Name/DBA Mailing Address 

FEIN SSN (Sole Proprietors) Contact Number Business Number Fax Number 

VA State Registration Number Email Address Website 

LICENSE TAX CALCULATOR 

GR Reportable Gross Receipts to Hanover County or Estimated Project Cost 
for contractors new to Hanover County 

TR Tax Rate X 0.001 
TAX If GR is $100,000 or less, enter $0.00; otherwise, multiply GR by Tax 

Rate 
$ 

LFP Late Filing Penalty:  Multiply TX by 10% if renewing after 03/01/2020 $ 

DUE ***TOTAL DUE:  Sum of TAX + LFP $ 
*** If a license application is not filed and the tax is not paid within the time provided, the amount due shall be subject to interest at ten percent 
(10%) per annum commencing on the first day following the day such tax is due as well as a ten percent (10%) late filing penalty.  Please contact 
the Hanover County Treasurer’s Office at (804) 365-6050 for the actual interest rate or any other additional payment information. 

mailto:corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov
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