COUNTY OF HANOVER, VIRGINIA
Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue

PO, Box 129 CONTRACTOR'’S BUSINESS
Hanover, VA 23069-0129 LICENSE APPLICATION
Tel: (804) 365-3377 Fax: (804) 365-6111 TAX YEAR 2020
T. Scott Harris, MCR Email: corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov
Commissioner
Account Number Please Select One
[ Hanover Based Contractor [0 Out of County/State Contractor
Legal Business Name Physical Address
Trade Name/DBA Mailing Address
FEIN SSN (Sole Proprietors) Contact Number Business Number Fax Number
VA State Contractor Number Email Address Website

Single Project Contractors

If you are an out of county/state contractor working on a single project, your tax will be based on the estimate of the project. You'll be asked to true-up when
the job is complete.

Project Start Date Project End Date Estimated Project Costs

Pursuant to Virginia State Code 858.1-2700, every contractor shall obtain a license for each business. If the gross receipts of the business exceed
$100,000 in the prior year, there shall be a license tax in the amount of ten cents ($0.10) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of gross receipts.
The license tax is assessable, due and payable by March 1 of each license year.

GROSS RECEIPTS CALCULATOR ‘ LICENSE TAX CALCULATOR

A | Total Gross Receipts | $ RCT | Reportable Receipts to Hanover/Estimated Project Cost $0.00
TR | Tax Rate X 0.001
TAX | If RCT is $100,000 or less, enter $0.00;

Gross Receipts Where Fee Was Paid to Other Locality

"Locality Gross Receipt Amount otherwise, multiply RCT by Tax Rate $0.00
i LFP | Late Filing Penalty: Multiply TX by 10% if renewing
after 03/01/2020
: DUE| **TOTAL DUE: Sum of TAX + LFP $0.00
B | Total Paid Others $ 0.00 = |f a license application is not filed and the tax is not paid within the time provided, the amount due

shall be subject to interest at ten percent (10%) per annum commencing on the first day following the

*Attach an addlitional sheet if necessary. Enter in field for a locality. . .
! ! 1y. Enterin field fora localy day such tax is due as well as a ten percent (10%) late filing penalty. Please contact the Hanover

Net Reportable Receipts County Treasurer's Office at (804) 365-6050 for the actual interest rate or any other additional payment
To Hanover County 0.00 information.
SumofA-B $ '

Contractor’s Certification of Workers’ Compensation Liability (VA Form 61-A) MUST be completed and submitted with this application.
You may also submit a confirmation from the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission.

Declaration: By signing below, | declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge
and belief. | acknowledge the Workman’s Compensation requirements as stated above.

Signature Date Telephone Number

Signature (person other than taxpayer preparing this form) Date Telephone Number



mailto:corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov

COUNTY OF HANOVER, VIRGINIA
Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue

P.0. Box 129 CONTRACTOR’S BUSINESS
Hanover, VA 23069-0129 LICENSE APPLICATION
Tel: (804) 365-3377 Fax: (804) 365-6111 TAX YEAR 2020

T. Scott Harris, MCR Email: corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov

Commissioner

Gross Receipts Where Fee Was Paid to Other Localities Worksheet (Addendum)

Account Number Legal Business Name

Pursuant to Virginia State Code 858.1-2700, every contractor shall obtain a license for each business. If the gross receipts of the business exceed
$100,000 in the prior year, there shall be a license tax in the amount of ten cents ($0.10) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of gross receipts.
The license tax is assessable, due and payable by March 1 of each license year.

This form is used when a contractor needs to record Gross Receipts from more than four (4) localities. Once complete, transfer the

Total Paid Others calculated below to the Contractor License application. Under locality, list the total as Worksheet Total.
Please include this list with your application.

Gross Receipts Paid to other Localities
Locality Gross Receipt Amount

B | Total Gross Receipts Paid Others (Worksheet Total) $0.00



mailto:corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE COUNTY OF HANOVER APPLICATION FOR CONTRACTOR'’S LICENSE

Pursuant to Virginia State Code §58.1-3700 et seq, every contractor shall obtain a license for each business. The License tax
is assessable, due, and payable by March 1 of each license year. If a license application is not filed and the tax is not paid
within the time provided, the amount due shall be subject to interest at ten percent (10%) per annum commencing on the first
day following the day such tax is due as well as a ten percent (10%) late filing penalty. Hanover based contractors that do not
file, may be issued a statutory assessed Contractor’'s Business License bill.

Licenses are based on gross receipts that were earned by the business in the prior year. The calculation of gross receipts for
license tax purposes shall be on either the cash or accrual method provided that the method used coincides with the method of
accounting used for federal and state income tax purposes.

If the gross receipts of the business exceed $100,000 in the prior year, there shall be a license tax in the amount of ten cents
($.10) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of gross receipts. To calculate a Contractor’s License Tax, multiply your gross receipts
by .001.

Example: if gross receipts are $200,000.00, multiply this figure by .001 for a Contractor’s Business License Tax of $200.00.

The fee schedule differs for contractors based in Hanover County from those whose main office is based outside of the County.
Reference the chart below to determine your filing status:

Hanover Based Contractor License Application Required? License Tax Due?

Gross receipts UP TO $100,000.00 NO

Gross receipts GREATER than $100,000.00

Contractor based outside of Hanover County License Application Required? License Tax Due?
Gross receipts UP To $25,000.00 NO NO
Gross receipts greater than $25,000.00 up to $100,000.00 NO

Gross receipts GREATER than $100,000.00

Important Notes

* If you are not State Registered as a Class A, B, or C Contractor, you must sign an affidavit stating that you are not
subject to licensure or certification as a contractor or subcontractor pursuant to Virginia State Code 854.1-1111.

* In order to process your license, a Worker's Compensation form must be completed if applicable

* If you have property located in Hanover County on January 1%t you must file Business Returns of Tangible Personal
Property by May 1%,

* Checks should be made payable to: County of Hanover
* You may submit Contractor’s Business License Renewals and conduct other business with our office online at:

https://taxes.hanovercounty.gov/

If you have any questions about this form or the process, please feel free to contact the Business Division of the
Commissioner of the Revenues Office:

Telephone Fax Email

804-365-3377 804-365-6111 corbusiness@hanovercounty.gov

Mailing Address

Post Office Box 129, Hanover, Virginia 23069-0129

Physical Address

7507 Library Drive, Chenault-Weems Building, Room 015 (Downstairs)




Contractor’s
Certificate of Workers’

Compensation Insurance
(Form 61-A)

PLEASE COMPLETE RULLY AND LEGIBLY

www. workcomp. virginia.gov

Electronic Filing Available Online
Name of Business Owner /Contractor
Last:

Business or Trade Name

First:

Business FederalEmployer ID (FEIN) or Tax ID Number:

Business Owner / Contractor's Home Mailing Address:

Business Address if different from Business Owner Address:

City: State: Zip:

City: State: Zip:

Home Telephone:

Business: Corp..] LL.CL] SolePropl] Partnershipl] Other[]

# of officers [ # of paid members [ # of partners: []

WORKERS~ COMPENSA TION INSURA NCE

If you have workers’compensation insurance checktype and complete below:

Type of Trade or Industry:

List ONLY WORKERS’' COMPENSATION, not General Liability
OO Insurance Carrierlicensedin Virginia

[0 self-insured with certificate of authorization issued by the
Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission

[J Group Self-Insurance Association (GSIA) licensed by the State
Corporation Commission

O A professional Employer Organization (PEO) registered in Virginia

Business Telephone: E-mailAddress:

NCCI Carrier

c Name of Insurance Carrier, Self-Insured, GSIA or
Code

PEO:

Policy, Master Policy or Certificate Number:

Policy Effective Date: Policy Expiration Date:

If you do not list workers’ compensation
insurance you must answer below:

1. Do youhave morethan two part-time or full-time employees?

(Note: Corporate officers, LLC managers, part-time employees and
employees of your subcontractors generally count as your employees for
Workers' compensation purposes. Filing of a 1099, payment of cash wages
or designating a worker an “Independent Contractor” does not necessarily
eliminate or alter employee status under the Workers’ Compensation Act.)

O Yes O No

2. Do you hire Independent Contractors or subcontractors with
employeesto assistyouin your work?

O Yes O No
Whatis I__t:|he number of subcontractor workersthat assistyouinyour
work?

Failure to insure when required by lawshall subject an employerto
civil penalties of up to $250 per day uninsured, subjectto a maximum
penalty of $50,000.00 plus costs, pursuant to Virginia Code § 65.2-805

Under penalty of perjury, the undersigned certifiess/he is duly authorized by the business license applicant to execute this certificate;
the information provided hereinis correct; and the businessis in compliance with Chapter 8 of Title 65.2 of the Virginia Workers’
Compensation Actand will remain in compliance with the law during the effective period of the businesslicense.

Signature of Applicant (Contractor or Business Owner)

Date

Print Name of Applicant

For questions regarding how to complete this form, please contact the Commission toll-free at 1-877-664-2566 or 804 205-3586

Certificates of Insurance Cannot be Accepted in Lieu of a Completed Form

61A

rev11/13/2017
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE VWC FORM61-A

To be completed by the contractor. All information requested is required.

1.

2,

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Enter the Business owner / Contractor’s name, mailing address and phone number, all information is required.
Enter the complete name of business. Additionally list the trade name under which the business operates if a trade name is used.

Enter the business address that is used to receive mail by the U.S. Postal Service, if this address is different from the business
owner / contractor’s address.

Provide the Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) for the business. If one has not been issued, list the Temporary FE IN
issued by the Virginia Tax Dept. If you are a sole proprietor with neither, list your social security number; however it is best to
obtain a FEIN, given the restrictions on the use of social security numbers.

Check the legal status of the business.

If a corporation, enter the number of officers. If a LLC, enter the number of paid members. If a partnership, enterthe number
of partners.

Provide the type of trade or industry in which the business is classified.
Enter the business phone number if there is one and the business e-mail if there is one.

Provide the workers’ compensation insurance information if you have coverage. Enter only workers’ compensation insurance.
No other form of insurance substitutes. Provide the complete name of the insurance company or other insuring entity providing
workers’ compensation insurance coverage for the business. Also enter the policy or member number and policy effective dates.

Do not list the name of an insurance agent or agency. If you do not know or recall the name of your insurance company or
insuring entity, please contact your agent to obtain this information.

Out of state employers, please note, Virginia requires valid Virginia workers’ compensation coverage for work performed in
Virginia. For a business that has a valid policy based outside Virginia, if the business either performs or subcontracts work in
Virginia, the business needs valid Virginia coverage and may usually secure valid Virginia coverage with the proper Virginia
Amendatory Endorsement, adding Virginia to Item 3A of the policy. An employer from a monopolistic state must usually obtain
separate coverage from a Virginia licensed insurance carrier.

If you do not have / list workers’ compensation insurance on your form you must answer additional questions,
please answer whether you have more than two employees and whether you hire subcontractors to assist in your work and the
number of subcontractor workers. A response tothese questions is required.

Virginia workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements. Virginia law requires that every employer who
regularly employs more than two part-time or ful-time employees purchase and maintain workers' compensation insurance. A
business that hires subcontractors to assist in the work of the business or fuffill a contract of the business must count the
subcontractor’'s employees when counting employees to determine if / when coverage is required. This is true even if the
subcontractor has their own workers’ compensation coverage.

A contractor should gather proof of coverage from all subcontractors hired and should not be charged insurance premium for
subcontractors that have their own coverage. Regardless, a contractor that hires subcontractors with employees must count the
subcontractor's employees when counting total employees and determining when / whether the contractor is required to carry
coverage. Virginia coverage requirements for contractors are surprisingly broad and unique. Please take time to review.

For workers’ compensation insurance questions please contact the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission at 804 205-3586.
Please ensure that the form is signed, the name of the person signing the form is printed on it and the form is properly dated.

Return your completed form to the Workers’ Compensation Commission at 333 E. Franklin St., Richmond, VA
23219 Attn: Insurance Department

Note: The state funds of West Virginia and Maryland are not authorized to write workers’ compensation insurance in Virginia.

DO NOT ATTACH ANY DOCUMENTS TO THE CONTRACTOR'S CERTIFICATE.
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