News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/25/2023 2:56:00 PM to 7/10/2023 5:05:01 PM.

News Flash

Hanover County Press Releases

Posted on: May 25, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Coleman, Welsh appointed to School Board

Monolo Coleman Welsh Davis

Greg Coleman of the Beaverdam District and Whitney Welsh of the Henry District have been appointed by the Board of Supervisors to the Hanover County School Board.

The Board unanimously followed the recommendations of Beaverdam District Supervisor J. Robert Monolo and Henry District Supervisor Sean Davis in making the appointments.

Coleman is an Air Force veteran and an account manager and sales representative for Alcon, a medical equipment manufacturing company. He and his wife have three children in Hanover County schools. “Service before self has been ingrained in me from an early age,” he told the Board. 

“While I had several outstanding candidates, after interviewing them all I nominated Greg because he is a strong Christian with leadership experience and he has kids in Hanover schools, giving him firsthand knowledge of the issues faced by parents of school children,” Monolo said. “I felt he would do the best job advocating for parents and children in our schools.”

Welsh is a retired business owner who has two teenagers at Hanover High School and two younger children at Rural Point Elementary School. She is a graduate of Atlee High School. She said that having children in the school system made her want to be a bigger part of it, and she couldn’t think of a better way to serve than being on the school board. "I'm humbled and excited," she said..

“Our district was fortunate to have a number of qualified candidates express a desire to serve,” Davis said. “I am grateful to have had so many stellar individuals come forward. With that, Mrs. Welch was ultimately selected because of her leadership ability and her desire to work with parents, students, and school personnel to ensure our public school system will deliver a second-to-none educational experience to those that our school system serves."

Coleman and Welsh will take office in July. 

School Board members serve four-year terms and are reappointed on a staggered basis. Current Beaverdam School Board representative John Axselle did not seek reappointment and Henry School Board representative George Sutton no longer lives in the district.

(Pictured from left to right: Supervisor J. Robert Monolo; Greg Coleman; Supervisor Sean Davis; Whitney Welsh)

Facebook Twitter Email