News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/11/2018 3:30:14 PM to 5/19/2018 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash

Hanover County Press Releases

Posted on: May 11, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Board of Supervisors Recognizes Longtime Employees for Their Service

The Board of Supervisors has honored 92 Hanover County employees for their length of service, including two employees who have served the public for 35 or more years.

Recognized for 35 years of service were Sue Glasco of the Department of General Services and Michael Whitley of Public Utilities.

Recognized for 30 years of service were David Barton, William Shaw and Michael Tiller of the Sheriff’s Office and Sterling Rives, County Attorney.

Recognized for 25 years of service were Cheryl Buchanan and Arlene Sharpe of Emergency Communications; Kenny Epling and Michael Trice of the Sheriff’s Office; Chris Garber and Bill Holland of Public Utilities; Sheila Hall and AmyJean Johnson of the Commissioner of Revenue’s Office; Edwin Hart of Public Works; Vicki Holtzlander of Parks & Recreation; Carol Iacone of the County Attorney’s Office; and Amy Thomas and Evangeline Wood of Community Services.

Recognized for 20 years of service were Joseph Adt and David Guyton of General Services; Sherida Bradby, Marcia Cramer, Beth Jeffords, Debora Matzganis and Terry Mines of the Pamunkey Regional Library; Lonnie Carter, Rick Chapman, James Cole, Donald Davis, Franklin Dressler, Karen Godfrey, Mark Humphreys, Kevin LaPlaga, Anthony Luellen, Paul Maes, Patrick Murphy, Keith Parknow, Daniel Pittman, Kirk Shaffier, Sean Smith, Shane Wickham and Scott Wilting of the Sheriff’s Office; Charles “Eddie” Clarke, Jason Kerrick and Jethro Piland of Fire/EMS; Kimberly Daniels of Planning; Shirley Edwards of Building Inspections; Ginny Ferguson and Cheryl Jackson of Social Services; Torrie Goodman and Rhonda Lowry of Community Services; Janie Hayes and Becky Newcomb of Emergency Communications; Frances Hubbard of Community Resources; and Todd Swain of Information Technology.

Recognized for 15 years of service were Chris Anderson, Troy Balderson, Thomas Nelson, Greg Rice, Jerome Stout, Steven Tillson and Jason Williams of Fire/EMS; Donna Bowen of Planning; Ronald Clements, Greg Smithson and George Sutton of General Services; Lisa Dabney, Craig Fortune, Albert Myers, Joseph Vidunas and Christopher Weldon of Public Works; Robert “Eddie” Eacho, Nancy Langley and Casey Lawrence of Emergency Communications; Rene Elder and Melissa Shick of the Commissioner of Revenue’s Office; Dana Gaskin and Robert Schilling of Community Services; Trey Gontkovic and Paul Leduc of Public Utilities; Cynthia Harding and Lisa Morgan of Pamunkey Regional Library; Michael Hazelwood and Emmett “Dalton” Pierce of Parks & Recreation; James Leahey of Information Technology; Jeff Liggan of the Assessor’s Office; Robert Nelson, Matthew Ratchford, Scott Spradlin and Travis Thomas of the Sheriff’s Office; Colleen Simpson of the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office; Harold Stills of Building Inspection; and Susan Webb of the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office.

The employees were thanked and congratulated by Board of Supervisors Chairman Sean M. Davis and County Administrator Cecil R. Harris Jr. 

“The number of employees we are honoring today speaks volumes for the commitment to provide that much of your life to the County,” Davis said.  “We recognize and celebrate our employees in recognition of their dedication and service to the citizens of Hannover County.”

“Great things are never done by one person,” Harris said.  “They’re done by a group of people.”  "These employees", he said, "have helped to make Hanover a great place to live and work.  I appreciate your loyalty and commitment to Hanover County,” said the County Administrator.

The Board of Supervisors annually recognizes its employees for their tenure with the County.  Employees reaching the 15, 20, 25 and 30-year service levels are presented with a plaque, service pin and small gifts of appreciation, with choices depending on the length of service.


Facebook Twitter Email