Social Services Advisory Board


  • 3:30 p.m.
  • Beginning with January, the board meets the 4th Tuesday of every other month
  • Hanover Human Services Center
    Large conference room (behind the Hanover Department of Social Services)
    12304 Washington Highway
    Ashland, VA 23005


Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Minutes 


  • Bernadette Cornelius, Chair/Cold Harbor District
    7097 McCauley Lane
    Mechanicsville, VA 23111
    Phone: 804-306-0247
    Email Bernadette Cornelius
  • E. Page Sening, Vice Chair/Chickahominy District
    10322 Brickerton Drive
    Mechanicsville, VA 23116
    Home Phone: 804-550-7687
    Cell Phone: 804-837-7687
    Email E. Page Sening
  • Ed Gooding, Beaverdam District
    17050 Old Ridge Road
    Montpelier, VA 23192
    Home Phone: 804-883-7172
    Email Ed Gooding
  • Vandi Hodges, Ashland District
    106 Howard Street
    Mechanicsville, VA 23005
    Home Phone: 804-798-1256                          
    Email Vandi Hodges
  • The Honorable Faye O. Prichard, Member-at-Large/Board of Supervisors/Ashland District  
    511 Chapman Street
    Ashland, VA 23005
    Home Phone: 804-798-5985
    Work Phone: 804-828-5866
    Email Faye O. Prichard
  • Dan Johnson, South Anna District
    14225 Clazemont Road
    Montpelier, VA 23192
    Phone: 804-883-7249
    Email Dan Johnson
  • Alice Miller, Mechanicsville District
    7424 Kelshire Trace
    Mechanicsville, VA 23111
    Home Phone: 804-730-0639
    Cell Phone: 804-370-7658
    Email Alice Miller
  • Jamie Radtke, Henry District
    9246 Pamunkey Crest Drive
    Mechanicsville, VA 23111
    Phone: 804-301-5301
    Email Jamie Radtke
  • Sheila Crossen-Powell, Director Hanover County Social Services
    12304 Washington Highway
    Ashland, VA 23005
    Work Phone: 804-365-4122
    Fax: 804-365-4110
    Email Sheila Crossen-Powell
  • Amy Taylor, Clerk of the Board           County Social Services
    12304 Washington Highway
    Ashland, VA 23005
    Work Phone: 804-365-4104
    Fax: 804-365-4110                                    Email Amy Taylor
Members represent each of the 7 magisterial districts in the county. An 8th member is an at-large member and a member of the Hanover Board of Supervisors. Staff members include the director of Social Services and the clerk of the board, who are non-voting members of the board. Legal counsel from the County Attorney's Office also is present in a non-voting capacity.

Terms of Service

Members serve 4-year terms and may serve no more than 2 consecutive terms, unless they have filled an unexpired term. In that case, the unexpired term does not count toward their appointment time.


The Social Services Advisory Board is composed of 8 members: 7 members who represent their magisterial districts and are appointed by their Hanover Board of Supervisor members; and 1 at-large member from the Board of Supervisors. According to the Code of Virginia, §63.2-305, an advisory board has 5 charges:
  • Display interest in all matters pertinent to the public assistance and social services needed by the people of the jurisdiction served by the local department
  • Monitor the formulation and implementation of public assistance and social services programs by the local department
  • Meet with the local government official who constitutes the local board at least four times a year for the purpose of making recommendations on policy matters concerning the local department
  • Making an annual report to the governing body or bodies, concurrent with the budget presentation of the local department, concerning the administration of the public assistance and social services programs
  • Submit to the governing body or bodies other reports that the advisory board deems appropriate (Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Social Services, Local Board Member Handbook, March 2012, page18)
Board members also are expected to function as liaisons with community partners and as public educators (ibid, page 19).


The Hanover Board of Supervisors approved the move of the Board of Social Services from an administrative board to an advisory board on June 9, 2010. This decision was based on the county's and the department's desire to assist each other during difficult financial times and due to the county's awareness that many other jurisdictions of similar size had moved from administrative to advisory boards. Ordinance 10-13 became effective on July 1, 2010.


Citizen, Board

Further Information

Board members receive $250 per month.

The department's main telephone number is 804-365-4100.