Boards, Committees, & Commissions L - Z

  1. Legislative Committee

    The Legislative Committee works to review items proposed for inclusion on Board of Supervisors legislative agenda.

  2. Lewistown Community Development

    To act as fiduciary agent over the Community Development Authority (CDA) and the bonds issued to support the CDA assets acquired or built.

  3. Local Board of Building Code Appeals

    The purpose of the Local Board of Building Code Appeals is to resolve disputes between citizens and the Chief Building Official regarding the interpretation and application of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.

  4. Metro Richmond Air Quality Committee

    The Metropolitan Richmond Air Quality Committee (MRAQC) is the Lead Planning Organization (LPO) for the Richmond region and was established pursuant to Section 174 of the federal Clean Air Act as amended (CAA).

  5. Pamunkey Regional Jail Authority

    The Pamunkey Regional Jail Authority directs the growth, operation, and business activities of the jail and has served the local incarceration needs of its member localities of Hanover County, Caroline County and the Town of Ashland since 1998.

  6. Pamunkey Regional Library Board

    Established by Goochland, Hanover, King and Queen and King William counties, the Pamunkey Regional Library operates a regional free library system pursuant to the provisions of Title 42.1-37 of the 1950 Code of Virginia, as amended, under the administration and control of a regional library Board of Trustees.

  7. Parks & Recreation Advisory Commission

    The Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission works with the Parks and Recreation department to recommend the acquisition and development of an adequate system of parks, facilities and recreation programs.

  8. Planning Commission

    The Code of Virginia authorizes the Planning Commission to prepare a comprehensive plan for the community, as well as establish tools of plan implementation including a subdivision ordinance, capital improvement program and zoning ordinance. The commission serves as an advisory agent to the Board of Supervisors.

  1. Regional Water Planning Commission

    The Regional Water Planning Commission works to coordinate local water plans, to develop a regional plan that assures adequate, safe water supplies and, where feasible, provides mutual support during emergencies.

  2. Richmond Regional Planning District Commission

    The Richmond Regional Planning District Commission (RRPDC) is composed of representatives from the counties of Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, and Powhatan, the city of Richmond and the town of Ashland.

  3. Richmond Transportation Planning Organization

    The Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Board serves as the federal and state designated regional transportation planning organization that serves as the forum for cooperative transportation decision-making to assure excellence in mobility and safety within and through the Richmond region.

  4. Roads Committee

    The Roads Committee functions in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors related to various transportation matters.

  5. Rules Committee

    The purpose of the Rules Committee is to review standing rules and procedures of the Board of Supervisors.

  6. Safety & Security Committee

    The primary function of the Safety and Security Committee is to work with the departments of Fire and EMS, Sheriff's Office, Emergency Communications, Animal Control and the Pamunkey Regional Jail.

  7. School Board

    The purpose of School Board is to serve as the appointed body under the Code of Virginia in providing oversight over the Hanover County Public School system to preserve and enhance public school education.

  8. Social Services Advisory Board

    Board members are expected to function as liaisons with community partners and as public educators.