Public Notices

Democratic Party Presidential Primary

Absentee Voting starts Thursday, January 16, 2020

Absentee voting for the March 3rd Democratic Party Presidential Primary starts Thursday, January 16, 2020.
Virginia Republicans will choose delegates to their national convention at a state convention. Therefore, no Republican candidates will appear on the ballot in the March 3, 2020 Democratic Party Presidential Primary.
Registered voters must meet one of the 20 eligibility requirements to vote absentee. The list of requirements can be found on the Virginia Absentee Ballot Application or at
Virginia citizens who wish to vote absentee must be registered to vote. Citizens can register to vote online or by submitting a completed voter registration application to our voter registration office. The last day to register or update your personal information to vote in the Democratic Party Primary is Monday, February 10, 2020.  Registrations must be received or postmarked by this date.
In-person absentee voting will begin on Thursday, January 16, 2020 and will continue until Saturday, February 29, 2020.  Our office hours: Monday through Friday 8:30 AM – 5 PM and on Saturday 8 AM – 4 PM.
The deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail is 5 PM Tuesday, February 25, 2020. Apply as early as possible to avoid delays in mail delivery. Absentee ballots returned by mail must be received in this office by 7 PM on Election Day March 3, 2020. Voters can request an absentee ballot online at
Virginia law requires voters to present an acceptable photo ID when voting in-person. For a list of acceptable forms of photo identification or to find out how to obtain a free Virginia Voter Photo ID Card, please visit Voters can also find information about the upcoming election and check their registration status on the site. Please contact us at 804-365-6080 for more information.

March 3, 2020 Absentee Uniformed-Service & Overseas Citizens eligible to use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot (FWAB)

Officers of Elections Wanted!


Be a part of making history!  Citizens serving as an Officer of Elections will receive training and compensation.  To learn more about becoming an Officer of Elections contact our office at (804) 365-6080.

Important Dates

Election and voting related dates and deadlines are posted on the county calendar as important dates. You can find all the information you need there. If you cannot find what you are looking for please call 804-365-6080.

Election Schedules

Elections are held every November. Find election schedules on the Virginia Department of Elections website.
Time-sensitive election and voting related information is posted on the county's news/public notice section of the website. If you cannot find what you are looking for, please call 804-365-6080.

Register to Vote

Absentee Voting


Results & Statistics

Get Involved

Forms & Documents