Hanover-Caroline Soil and Water Conservation


In an effort to maintain social distancing, the District is serving one client at a time in our office until further notice. Appointments with our conservation specialists are recommended to avoid asking anyone to wait in the hallway. 

No-till drill lease agreements and instructions can be found beside our office door for those with drill reservations. 

To reserve the drill,  please contact Kathy Shambin at 804-537-3009 or kshambin@hanovercounty.gov

HCSWCD logo 

The June 9 District Board meeting will be held ONLY by Webex Virtual Platform. 

Please contact District Manager, Sharon Conner, for an invitation to attend at slconner@hanovercounty.gov or 804-537-3014


The Hanover-Caroline SWCD RMP TAC Meeting was held virtually, 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM, Thursday, May 28, hosted by District Manager, Sharon Conner. A recording of the meeting may be found on the Forms and Publications page.

  1. Grass Farmers Lunch Hour

    Grass Farmer's Lunch Hour

    Free webinar series every Thursday in May, during the lunch hour. Read on...
  2. VCE 15 min in Forest

    Fifteen Minutes in the Forest

    Weekly Series of 15-Minute Webinars by Virginia Cooperative Extension Foresters Read on...
View All
Pic of Bandana farm


The District's mission is to provide and promote leadership in the conservation of natural resources through proper stewardship and educational programs.

The District promotes the conservation of natural resources through initiatives that include serving as a primary resource for educational and technical assistance to local government, schools, civic groups, agriculture, and urban, transitional and business communities.


The District consists of a citizen board of elected and appointed directors and a full-time staff of conservation, education, and administrative specialists.

Director Terms of Service

Two directors are elected to represent Hanover County and two are elected to represent Caroline County. Each serve a 4-year term and are elected in the November general election. Two at-large members are appointed by the Board to serve as directors. Additionally, non-voting associate directors are appointed by the Board.

 Public Board Meetings

  • 9 a.m.
  • Second Tuesday of every month
  • USDA Service Center Conference Room
    13224 Hanover Courthouse Road
    Hanover, VA 23069

Officers and Directors