Burn Laws

Open Burning Restriction Areas

In accordance with Hanover County Code, Chapter 9, Public Safety, Article III, Division I: In addition to any seasonal burn restrictions that may be implemented, areas in Hanover County where open burning is restricted at all times include:

  • Properties in the urban service area
  • Properties zoned R-1, R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5, R-6, RS
  • Anywhere in the Town of Ashland (in accordance with Ashland Code of Ordinances, Section 7-2)
Brush Fire
Use the burn law map (PDF) to determine if your property is in one of these areas.

To look up your property's zoning, you can use our parcel search feature at Hanover County GIS to find your zone.

4 P.M. Burning Law

Outdoor fires unlawful before 4 p.m., February 15 through April 30

The 4 p.m. Burning Law comes into effect each spring and is different from the burning bans, which are invoked only during periods of extreme fire danger.

During these dates each year, you cannot burn before 4 p.m. if the fire is within 300 feet of woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials.

The danger of fire is higher in early spring than in summer when the forest and grasses are green with new growth.